Sony-Center/BahnTower, 2023

Refurbishment Potsdamer Platz

Sony Center located at Potsdamer Platz was built in the year 2000 according to the design of architect Helmut Jahn in collaboration with PWP Landscape Architecture. It is located in a prime central location. The 113,000 m² building complex is considered one of Berlin’s landmarks and every year it attracts around 7 million visitors from all over the world.

It is considered a symbol of forward-looking urban development and was acquired in 2017 by Oxford Properties Group, a global investor, developer and manager in the real estate sector. The master plan for the redevelopment was presented in a joint press conference on 4th November 2021 by Oxford Properties, JAHN Architects and PWP Landscape Architecture.

Category

OfficesRetail

Location

Berlin Mitte
Project Location Berlin Mitte

Gross floor area

24.000 sqm (BahnTower) + 17.000 sqm

Service phases

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Client

Sochribel Fixtures GmbH

Photography

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

The Sony Center includes a total of 8 buildings with different uses, such as offices, retail, leisure and residential. The eastern end of the Sony Center is formed by a high-rise building with approximately 24,000 m² of high-quality office space, whose tenant is Deutsche Bahn, the German national railway company. In November 2020, Oxford Properties Group commissioned AUKETT + HEESE with the interior design of the 103m high and 26-storey office building, so-called Bahntower.

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

In addition to the architectural significance, special focus is placed on employees to create office spaces that meet all the requirements of a modern, flexible working environment and optimize health and well-being. The office areas will be reorganized from originally cellular offices to flexible units and layouts. The lobby is also being comprehensively refurbished in order to create an interactive place for meeting and exchange. Deutsche Bahn, the largest tenant in the Sony Center, is expected to move back into its refurbished premises at the end of 2023.

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

In addition to the modernization of the Bahntower, AUKETT +HEESE is also working on the conversion of the former Cinestar cinema into a fitness & leisure facility as well as the conversion and deconstruction of the IMAX cinema in cooperation with JAHN Architecture. This will create new offices and food court areas. The project management for the conversion of the Sony Center is provided by SMV Bauprojektsteuerung IG.

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

Category

OfficesRetail

Location

Berlin Mitte
Project Location Berlin Mitte

Gross floor area

24.000 sqm (BahnTower) + 17.000 sqm

Service phases

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Client

Sochribel Fixtures GmbH

Photography

(c) Realace GmbH

Sony-Center/BahnTower, 2023

Umstrukturierungen am Potsdamer Platz

Das Sony Center am Potsdamer Platz wurde im Jahr 2000 nach Entwürfen des Architekten Helmut Jahn in Zusammenarbeit mit PWP Landscape Architecture erbaut und befindet sich in bester zentraler Lage. Der 113.000 m² große Gebäudekomplex gilt als Wahrzeichen Berlins und lockt jährlich rund 7 Mio. Besucher aus aller Welt an.

Er gilt als Symbol für zukunftsweisende Stadtentwicklung und wurde 2017 von der Oxford Properties Group, einem globalen Investor, Entwickler und Verwalter im Immobiliensektor erworben. Der Masterplan zur Neuausrichtung wurde in einer gemeinsamen Pressekonferenz am 4. November 2021 von Oxford Property, JAHN Architects und PWP Landscape Architecture vorgestellt.

Kategorie

BüroEinzelhandel

Standort

Berlin Mitte
Projekt Standort Berlin Mitte

Fläche BGF

24.000 m² (BahnTower) + 17.000 m²

Leistungsphasen

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Bauherr

Sochribel Fixtures GmbH

Fotografie

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

Zum Sony-Center gehören insgesamt 8 Gebäude mit unterschiedlichen Nutzungen, wie Büros, Einzelhandel, Freizeit und Wohnen. Den östlichen Abschluss des Sony Centers bildet das Hochhaus mit ca. 24.000 m² hochwertigen Büroflächen, dessen Mieter die Deutsche Bahn ist. Im November 2020 beauftragte die Oxford Properties Group AUKETT + HEESE mit dem Innenausbau des 103 m hohen und 26-geschossigen, sogenannten Bahntowers.

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

Besonderer Fokus wird hier neben der architektonischen Bedeutung auf wichtige Aspekte für die Mitarbeiter*innen gelegt, beispielsweise sollen Arbeitsbereiche geschaffen werden, die alle Anforderungen an eine moderne, flexible Arbeitswelt erfüllen und Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden optimieren. Die Bürobereiche werden von ursprünglichen Zellenbüros zu flexiblen Nutzungseinheiten reorganisiert. Auch die Lobby wird umfassend und zeitgemäß modernisiert, hier entsteht ein interaktiver Ort der Begegnung und des Austausches. Die Deutsche Bahn, größter Mieter im Sony Center wird nach ihrem Auszug voraussichtlich Ende 2023 ihre modernisierten Räumlichkeiten beziehen.

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

(c) Quincy Quartey_Studio Odey

Neben der Modernisierung des Bahntower plant AUKETT +HEESE auch den Umbau des ehemaligen Cinestar Kinos zu einer Fitness & Freizeiteinrichtung sowie den Um- und Rückbau des IMAX-Kinos in Zusammenarbeit mit JAHN Architecture. Hierbei entstehen neue Büroflächen und Foodcourtbereiche. Die Projektsteuerung für die Umbauarbeiten des Sony Centers wird von SMV Bauprojektsteuerung IG erbracht.

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Realace GmbH

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

(c) Robert Agnell Architects

Kategorie

BüroEinzelhandel

Standort

Berlin Mitte
Projekt Standort Berlin Mitte

Fläche BGF

24.000 m² (BahnTower) + 17.000 m²

Leistungsphasen

2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Bauherr

Sochribel Fixtures GmbH

Fotografie

(c) Realace GmbH